Maharashtra Holidays In 2020

We have listed all the Maharashtra holidays 2020. The list comprises of all bank, regional, public, and national holidays in Maharashtra in 2020. You can plan your leaves and vacation after referring the holiday list.The entire India celebrates Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti on 02 October of every year. This is a common public holiday.

Trending Holidays in January 2020 in India

Maharashtra Holidays 2020

Public Holidays in Maharashtra for 2020

Date Day Holiday
26 January 2020 Sunday Republic Holiday
19 February 2020 Tuesday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
21 February 2020 Friday Maha Shivrathi
10 March 2020 Tuesday Holi
25 March 2020 Wednesday Gudi Padwa
2 April 2020 Thursday Ram Navami
6 April 2020 Monday Mahavir Jayanti
10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
14 April 2020 Tuesday Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
1 May 2020 Friday Maharashtra Day
7 May 2020 Thursday Buddha Purnima
24 May 2020 Sunday Eid Ul Fitr
31 July 2020 Friday Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha
11 August 2020 Tuesday Janmashthami
15 August 2020 Saturday Independence Day
17 August 2020 Monday Parsi New Year
22 August 2020 Saturday Ganesh Chathurthi
30 August 2020 Sunday Muharram
2 October 2020 Friday Gandhi Jayanti
26 October 2020 Monday Vijaya Dashami
30 October 2020 Friday Eid e Milad
14 November 2020 Saturday Diwali
30 November 2020 Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas Day

The Indian state of Maharashtra lies in the western region of the country with its capital in the financial city of Mumbai. The State is considered to be the most industrialised state in India. Maharashtra is also one of India’s biggest commercial and industrial centres. The state has a rich and diverse cultural life and several festivals are held throughout the year.

Note: All banks remain closed during bank holidays in Maharashtra, but ATMs will be open.

List of Monthly Holidays 2020

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra in 2020

Apart from national and regional holidays, there are bank holidays are observed in Maharashtra. During these bank holidays in Maharashtra, bank officials are off from work. All public sector banks in Maharashtra and other states of the country are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month as per an understanding between the Indian Banks’ Association and All India Bank Employees’ Association.

Below is the list of bank holidays in Maharashtra in 2020:

Date Day Holiday
11 January 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 January 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 January 2020 Sunday Republic Day
8 February 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
19 February 2020 Tuesday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
21 February 2020 Friday Maha Shivaratri
22 February 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 March 2020 Tuesday Holi
14 March 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 March 2020 Wednesday Gudi Padwa
28 March 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 April 2020 Thursday Ram Navami
6 April 2020 Monday Mahavir Jayanti
10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
11 April 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
14 April 2020 Tuesday Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
1 May 2020 Friday Maharashtra Day
7 May 2020 Thursday Buddha Purnima
9 May 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
23 May 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
24 May 2020 Sunday Eid-ul-Fitr
13 June 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
27 June 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 July 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 July 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
31 July 2020 Friday Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha
8 August 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
15 August 2020 Saturday Independence Day
17 August 2020 Monday Parsi New Year
22 August 2020 Saturday Ganesh Chathurthi
30 August 2020 Sunday Muharram
12 September 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
26 September 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2020 Friday Gandhi Jayanti
10 October 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
24 October 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 October 2020 Monday Vijaya Dashami
30 October 2020 Friday Eid e Milad
14 November 2020 Saturday Diwali/Second Saturday
15 November 2020 Sunday Diwali Holiday
28 November 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 November 2020 Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
12 December 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas
26 December 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday

The list of holidays in Maharashtra offers some insight into days which could be utilised to balance work-life. This can be used to plan and schedule your business activities and operations, as well as to plan that much-needed break. The mentioned holiday list of Maharashtra in 2020 would be helpful to people of all sections of the society as it will aid in planning their vacations in a smarter way. With an easy list of holidays listed above, it offers us opportunities to plan our leaves along with the holidays during the calendar year in Maharashtra.

An Overview Of Maharashtra

We also have a few festivals, which are specific to a particular state. For instance, Kannada Rajyotsava is celebrated only in Karnataka. Similarly, Maharashtra has a few state-specific holidays. If you are residing in Maharashtra and would want to know the dates of regional and public holidays in Maharashtra in 2020, this page is extremely detrimental for you. In India, Maharashtra is the second most populous state. By area, it the third-biggest. Maharashtra is the India’s most affluent state by Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Mumbai is the capital city and Marathi is the regional language of the state.

List of Trading Holidays 2020

How To Spend Holidays In Maharashtra

Vacations could be appealing and soothing if you plan a trip to Maharashtra, which is one the best, tourist-friendly destinations in India. It is a destination where the hills are always attractive and the coastline is always stifling. The state of Maharashtra welcomes tourists from all parts of the world to spend quality time with their friends and families during holidays. The following are the top five destinations to spend holidays in Maharashtra:

  • Mumbai: Mumbai being the capital city of Maharashtra has many tourist points to give tourists the real joy of holidays. The most famous tourist points to visit include Global Vipassana Pagoda, Elephanta Island and Basilica of Our Lady of the Mount.
  • Pune: The city of Pune, the second biggest city in Maharashtra, has a series of attractive historical sites and attractive tourist points such as Mulshi Dam, Sinhagad Fort and Bhuleshwar Range of Sahyadris.
  • Aurangabad: The attractive scenery of Aurangabad holds a few astonishing pints to spend holidays in Maharashtra with nature and antique shrines.
  • Matheran: Materan is an atmosphere-friendly destination has the major attractions such as Alexander Point, Charlotte Lake, Vikatgad Peb Fort and Echo Point.
  • Mahabaleshwar: This hill destination enthralls every tourist through its tourist points such as Wilson Point, Dhobi and Chinaman waterfalls, Pratap Garden and Pratapgarh Fort.

Holiday Destinations In India

List of Public Holidays in Maharashtra in 2020

Date Day Holiday
1 January 2019 Tuesday New Year’s Day
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri
21 March 2019 Thursday Holi
1 April 2019 Monday Bank Holiday (Only for Banks)
6 April 2019 Saturday Gudi Padwa
14 April 2019 Sunday Ram Navami/ Dr Ambedkaar Jayanti
17 April 2019 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
1 May 2019 Wednesday Maharashtra Day
19 May 2019 Sunday Buddha Purnima
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Juha (Bakrid)
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day
17 August 2019 Saturday Parsi New Year
2 September 2019 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi
10 September 2019 Tuesday Muharram
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 October 2019 Tuesday Dussehra
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-e-Milad
11 November 2019 Monday Guru Nanak Birthday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas Festival

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra in 2019

Date Day Holiday
1 January 2019 Tuesday New Year’s Day
12 January 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
26 January 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 February 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
19 February 2019 Tuesday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
23 February 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri
9 March 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
21 March 2019 Thursday Holi
23 March 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
1 April 2019 Monday Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts
13 April 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
17 April 2019 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
27 April 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
1 May 2019 Wednesday Maharashtra Day
11 May 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
18 May 2019 Saturday Buddha Purnima
25 May 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr
8 June 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
22 June 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
13 July 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
27 July 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 August 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Adha
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day
17 August 2019 Saturday Parsi New Year
24 August 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 September 2019 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi
10 September 2019 Tuesday Moharram
14 September 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
28 September 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 October 2019 Tuesday Dussehra
12 October 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 October 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali
9 November 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-E-Milad
12 November 2019 Tuesday Guru Nanak Birthday
23 November 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 December 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas
28 December 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday

List Of Public / Regional Holidays Of Maharashtra In 2018

Holiday Date Day Remarks
Republic Day 26 January 2018 Friday Throughout India
Maha Shivaratri 13 February Tuesday
Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti 19 February 2018 Monday Maharashtra-specific holiday
Holi 02 March 2018 Friday
Mahavir Jayanti 29 April 2018 Thursday The important festivals foe Jainism community
Good Friday 30 March 2018 Friday
Bank Holiday 01 April2018 Sunday Year account closing day
Ambedkar Jayanti 14 April 2018 Saturday Birthday of Ambedkar
Buddha Purnima 30 April 2018 Monday
Maharashtra Day 01 May 2018 Tuesday Maharashtra-specific holiday
Idul Fitr 16 June 2018 Saturday Many states
Independence Day 15 August 2018 Wednesday Throughout India
Parsi New Year 17 August 2018 Friday
Idul Juha 22 August 2018 Wednesday Bakrid several states
Ganesh Festival 13 September 2018 Thursday
Muharram 20 September 2018 Thursday
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti 02 October 2018 Tuesday Throughout India
Dusshera 18 October 2018 Thursday Vijay Dashami,
Diwali 07 November 2018 Wednesday
Deepavali 08 November 2018 Thursday Maharashtra
Id-e-Milad 21 November 2018 Wednesday
Guru Nanak Birthday 23 November 2018 Friday Birthday of the founder of Sikhism
Christmas Day 25 December 2018 Thursday All states

Maharashtra Bank Holidays 2018

Holiday Day Date
Republic Day Friday 26 January 2018
Maha Shivaratri Tuesday 13 February 2018
Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Monday 19 February 2018
Holi Friday 02 March 2018
Ugadi Sunday 18 March 2018
Ram Navami Sunday 25 March 2018
Mahavir Jayanti Thursday 29 March 2018
Ambedkar Jayanti Saturday 14 April 2018
May Day Tuesday 01 May 2018
Buddha Purnima Tuesday 29 May 2018
Vishu Sunday 15 April 2018
May Day Tuesday 01 May 2018
Idul Fitr Friday 15 June 2018
Independence Day Wednesday 15 August 2018
Parsi New Year Friday 17 August 2018
Bakrid Wednesday 22 August 2018
Ganesh Festival Thursday 13 September 2018
Muharram Thursday 20 September 2018
Gandhi Jayanti Tuesday 02 October 2018
Maha Navami Thursday 18 October 2018
Vijaya Dashami Friday 19 October 2018
Diwali Wednesday 07 November 2018
Deepavali Thursday 08 November 2018
Eid e Milad Wednesday 21 November 2018
Guru Nanak Jayanti Friday 23 November 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 2018

News About Maharashtra Holidays

  • 3-day school and college holiday in Maharashtra’s Palghar for Cyclone Maha

    The coastal district of Palghar in Maharashtra will have 3 days of holidays for schools and colleges on account of Cyclone Maha on the days of 6, 7, and 8 November. This is due to the heavy rains that are expected on account of the cyclone. Fishermen have also been asked not to venture out into the seas. Fishermen who are already at sea have been asked to either seek shelter at the nearest port or to return to their hometowns. Maha is expected to make landfall on 7 November, resulting in heavy rains forecast in the areas of Marathwada, coastal Konkan, and central Maharashtra for a few days after that.

    6 November 2019

  • October 2019 public holidays in Maharashtra

    Mumbai, the capital of Maharasthra and the financial capital of India, will have a number of holidays in October due to festivals and a national holiday. Banks will be closed on 12 October 2019 on account of it being a second Saturday. Diwali, which would have been a holiday, falls on a Sunday this year, which is 27 October 2019. Legislative assembly elections are planned on 21 October 2019, and a holiday has been declared on that day to enable people to vote without any hassles. The fourth Saturday of the month will also be a holiday, which falls on 26 October 2019. Apart from this, there are two Sundays falling in between, which are on 13 October and 20 October. It is best to keep these in mind so that bank and other office work can be planned in advance so as to avoid any hassles later on.

    9 October 2019

  • Public holiday in Maharashtra on 21 October due to assembly polls

    A public holiday has been declared in Maharashtra on 21 October to enable people to vote for the assembly polls. A holiday has been announced on that day for banks, state-run boards, semi-government offices, public enterprises, and corporations.

    7 October 2019

  • Schools remained closed in Mumbai on 19 September 2019

    In the view of ‘extremely heavy’ rainfall warning given by the Indian Meteorological Department, all schools and junior colleges in Mumbai, Thane and Konkan region of Maharashtra were closed.

    The IMD had issued a red rain alert which indicates ‘extremely heavy’ rainfall in the city of Mumbai and Raigad.

    Ashish Shelar, Education Minister on Wednesday, tweeted that the Maharashtra Government had announced that they had declared a holiday for schools and junior colleges in Mumbai, Thane and Konkan region due to the red alert.

    The red alert by the MET department indicates precipitation of more than 204 mm of rainfall in 24 hours starting from Thursday. Mumbai would be receiving heavy rainfall on Friday, 20 September 2019 as well along with Raigad.

    19 September 2019

  • Holiday declared on 5 September for schools and junior colleges in Mumbai

    A holiday was declared on 5 September for schools and junior colleges in Mumbai on account of the torrential rains. This will be applicable across Mumbai and Thane as well as the Konkan region. A red alert was issued by the weather department on 4 September. Over 100 weather stations in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region recorded 200+ mm of rainfall over the last 24 hours. The holiday for educational institutions was declared as part of a precautionary measure. Rail services have been interrupted by the rains since Wednesday resulting in protests by commuters over the cancellations and delays in train services. Airport operations were also affected by the rains with 24 flights held on ground, 20 cancelled, 280 delayed, and just five taking off on Wednesday. Heavy waterlogging was reported in various parts of the city.

    5 September 2019

  • Maharashtra Declares 2 July as Public Holiday after Heavy Rains

    Due to heavy rains there were water logging at several places in the financial capital of Mumbai and surrounding areas, the State Government has declared 2 July 2019 as a public holiday. The BMC CPRO said that in the wake of the extremely heavy rainfall forecast by the Indian Meteorological Department (IMD), the Government of Maharashtra has declared 2 July as a public holiday as a precautionary measure for Mumbai city and its people. Earlier, the government had declared 2 July as a holiday for all government and private schools. Maharashtra School Education Minister Ashish Shelar said that the government would like to announce and confirm that 2 July 2019 has been declared a holiday for all private and public schools in Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, kokan areas and Thane.

    IMD has predicted that there will be intermittent rain in the city and suburbs, with heavy to very heavy rainfall at a few places for the next 24 hours. Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) commissioner Pravin Pradeshi has directed all the ward officials to reach their offices and monitor the situation. The Central Railway has also suspended the movement of suburban trains, stating safety. The railways said that the Maharashtra government and several other agencies have been requested to ply extra buses between Mumbai and Pune for intercity travellers.

    2 July 2019

  • Government Declares Public Holiday after Rain-Related Accidents in Mumbai

    Unprecedented rains in Mumbai has left as many as 16 people dead overnight to rain-related accidents in Mumbai and Thane in the last 48 hours. Taking precautionary measures, the Maharashtra Government has declared a public holiday on 2 July 2019. In a late-night order, the municipal commissioner announced that all schools and colleges will remain closed on Tuesday. On Tuesday, at least 13 people were killed after a compound wall collapsed in Malad area here due to heavy rains, NDRF officials said. The incident occurred around 2:00 a.m. when the compound wall in Pimpripada of Malad east area collapsed and people living in the slum adjacent to the wall were trapped under the debris. NDRF officials stated that the deceased were living in the slums.

    They added that their team of National Disaster Response Force along with their sniffer dog reached the site of incident immediately after receiving the details. Also, a team of fire brigade and local police reached the site and took control of the situation. In another incident, about 3 people were killed and one injured after a wall of a school in Kalyan on the nearby hutments killing three persons. Meanwhile, six labourers were killed and about two injured after a wall collapsed on their makeshift shelters in Ambegaon area in Pune. As per the fire brigade officials, the incident took place near Sinhgad College campus on Monday night.

    2 July 2019

  • IT companies in Pune announce paid holiday on April 23 and April 29

    With Pune having a huge number of voters who work in the IT sector, certain IT companies have announced a paid holiday on the poll days. It needs to be mentioned here that people in Pune will vote on April 23 and April 29.  

    An Election Commission of India notification has stated that all establishments and shops are required to be closed on the day of polling in a constituency where general or bye-elections are slated to be held. 

    Pune votes during the third and fourth phase of the general elections. During the third phase of the elections, 14 districts of the state vote while 11 districts vote during the fourth phase of the elections. 

    12 April 2019

List of Indian Holidays
List of Trading Holidays 2020
List of Holidays in Different States
List of Monthly Holidays 2020

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.