Madhya Pradesh Holidays 2020

This page highlights the list of holidays in Madhya Pradesh for the year 2020. Since India is a fervent and a diverse society, it celebrates different kinds of festivals and holidays throughout the year. This can be perplexing at times, as the holidays differ from one state to the other and they are unstructured. However, the common categories include bank holidays, national holidays, public holidays, and regional holidays.

List of public Holidays in Madhya Pradesh in 2020

Date Day Holiday
26 January 2020 Sunday Republic Day
10 March 2020 Tuesday Holi
2 April 2020 Thursday Ram Navami
6 April 2020 Monday Mahavir Jayanti
10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
14 April 2020 Tuesday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
25 April 2020 Saturday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti
1 May 2020 Friday May Day
7 May 2020 Thursday Buddha Purnima
24 May 2020 Sunday Id-ul-Fitr
31 July 2020 Friday Bakrid / Eid al Adha
3 August 2020 Monday Raksha Bandhan
11 August 2020 Tuesday Janmashtami
15 August 2020 Saturday Independence Day
30 August 2020 Sunday Muharram
2 October 2020 Friday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
26 October 2020 Monday Dussehra
30 October 2020 Friday Eid-e-Milad
31 October 2020 Saturday Maharshi Valmiki Jayanti
14 November 2020 Saturday Diwali
30 November 2020 Monday Guru Nanak Birthday
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas

Holidays during the year offers a break from our hectic work life. By planning holidays ahead along with leaves, one can take maximum advantage. Stress-free planning is important for a vacation.

List of Monthly Holidays 2020

Bank Holidays in Madhya Pradesh in 2020

Apart from national and regional holidays in Madhya Pradesh, there are bank holidays observed in Madhya Pradesh. During these bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh, bank officials and staffs are off from work. As per an understanding between the Indian Banks’ Association and All India Bank Employees’ Association, all public sector banks in Madhya Pradesh and other states of India are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month.

Below is the list of bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh 2020:

Date Day Holiday
11 January 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 January 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 January 2020 Sunday Republic Day
8 February 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
22 February 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 March 2020 Tuesday Holi
14 March 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
28 March 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 April 2020 Thursday Ram Navami
6 April 2020 Monday Mahavir Jayanti
10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
11 April 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
14 April 2020 Tuesday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
25 April 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday/ Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti
1 May 2020 Friday May Day
7 May 2020 Thursday Buddha Purnima
9 May 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
23 May 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
24 May 2020 Sunday Id-ul-Fitr
13 June 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
27 June 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 July 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 July 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
31 July 2020 Friday Bakrid / Eid al Adha
3 August 2020 Monday Raksha Bandhan
8 August 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
11 August 2020 Tuesday Janmashtami
15 August 2020 Saturday Independence Day
22 August 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 August 2020 Sunday Muharram
12 September 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
26 September 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2020 Friday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
24 October 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 October 2020 Monday Dussehra
30 October 2020 Friday Eid-e-Milad
31 October 2020 Saturday Maharshi Valmiki Jayanti
14 November 2020 Saturday Diwali
28 November 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 November 2020 Monday Guru Nanak Birthday
12 December 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas
26 December 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday

The 2020 list of holidays in Madhya Pradesh offers an insight into holidays which could be used to plan your leaves as well as schedule your business operations and activities. The list of Madhya Pradesh holidays 2020 could help you plan your vacations effectively. With this list of 2020 Madhya holidays, one can plan leaves along with the holidays during the calendar year in Madhya Pradesh effectively.

Note: All banks remain closed during bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh, but ATMs will be open.

The word “Madhya” signifies “central” in Hindi and since Madhya Pradesh is located in the central part of India, it is named as “Madhya Pradesh.” With more than 75 million population, it is reported as the fifth biggest state in India. Covered with an area of 3,08,252 sq.km., the state is enriched with mineral resources. In fact, Madhya Pradesh (The Heart of India) features some of the biggest reserves of copper and diamond in India. It is not only known for its historical importance but also one of the fastest developing states.

List of Trading Holidays 2020

List Of Bank Holidays In Madhya Pradesh – 2020

A bank holiday is a business day, during which all the commercial banks, savings institutions, and other loan organization are closed to serve the public. Such holiday is more relevant to physical locations. Therefore, the online services will be still operative. But bank holidays differ from one country to the other, as they are defined by their own rules.

Talking about the bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh in specific, here is the list to make a note of:

Bank holidays are much different from stock market holidays, as they do not incorporate early closures. In addition, bank holidays rarely occur on two consecutive working days, as it can cause a big interruption in daily financial transactions and other important flows.

In spite of holidays, most banks allow online access to their customers. These usually include fund transfers, bill payments, deposits, and withdrawals.

Holidays during the year offers a break from our hectic work life. By planning holidays ahead along with leaves, one can take maximum advantage. Stress-free planning is important for a vacation.

Note: All banks remain closed during bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh, but ATMs will be open.

Holiday Destinations In India

List of public Holidays in Madhya Pradesh in 2019

Here’s the list of public holidays in Madhya Pradesh in 2019 that includes national, regional, and bank holidays that residents of Madhya Pradesh can avail in the calendar year of 2019.

Date Day Holiday
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri
21 March 2019 Thursday Doljatra
1 April 2019 Monday Bank Holiday (Only for Banks)
14 April 2019 Sunday Ram Navami/ Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
17 April 2019 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
1 May 2019 Wednesday May Day
19 May 2019 Sunday Buddha Purnima
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Juha (Bakrid)
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day/ Raksha Bandhan
23 August 2019 Friday Janmashtami
10 September 2019 Tuesday Muharram
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 October 2019 Tuesday Dusshera
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-e-Milad
11 November 2019 Monday Guru Nanak Birthday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas Festival

Below is the list of bank holidays in Madhya Pradesh 2019:

Date Day Holiday
12 January 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
26 January 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 February 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
23 February 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri
9 March 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
21 March 2019 Thursday Holi
23 March 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 April 2019 Tuesday Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts
13 April 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
17 April 2019 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
27 April 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 May 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
18 May 2019 Saturday Buddha Purnima
25 May 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr
8 June 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
22 June 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
13 July 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
27 July 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 August 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Adha/ Bakrid
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day/ Raksha Bandhan
24 August 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday/ Janmashtami
14 September 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
28 September 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 October 2019 Tuesday Dusshera
12 October 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 October 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali
9 November 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-E-Milad
23 November 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 December 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas
28 December 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday

List Of Public Holidays In Madhya Pradesh – 2018

Date Day Holiday Remarks
January 26, 2018 Friday Republic Day All over India
January 31, 2018 Wednesday Guru Ravidas’s Birthday Holiday in several states
February 14, 2018 Wednesday Maha Shivratri Holiday in several states. It is celebrated on the thirteenth night and the fourteenth day of Krishna Paksha
March 02, 2018 Friday Holi Celebrated across North India. Holiday in several states
March 19, 2018 Monday Cheti Chand Holiday only in Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Rajasthan
March 25, 2018 Sunday Ram Navami The ninth day of the first month in the Hindu calendar
March 29, 2018 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti An important religious day for Jains
March 30, 2018 Friday Good Friday The Friday before the Easter Sunday
April 01, 2018 Sunday Bank holiday Only for banks. Closing day of annual accounts
April 02, 2018 Monday Bank holiday Only for banks. Closing day of annual accounts
April 14, 2018 Saturday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar’s birthday
April 14, 2018 Saturday Vaisakhi Holiday in several states
April 18, 2018 Wednesday Parashurama Jayanti Holiday in several states
April 30, 2018 Monday Buddha Purnima Buddha’s Birth
June 16, 2018 Saturday Idul Fitr Holiday in several states
August 15, 2018 Wednesday Independence Day Holiday in all states
August 22, 2018 Wednesday Idul Juha Bakrid – Holiday in many states
August 26, 2018 Sunday Raksha Bandhan Holiday in several states
September 03, 2018 Monday Janmashtami Birth of Lord Krishna
September 21, 2018 Friday Muharram Holiday in several states
October 02, 2018 Tuesday National Holiday Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
October 19, 2018 Friday Dussehra Vijaya Dashami/Dasara
November 07, 2018 Wednesday Diwali Holiday in several states
November 21, 2018 Wednesday Id-e-Milad
November 23, 2018 Friday Guru Nanak’s Birthday Guru Nanak is the founder of Sikhism. His birthday falls on the full moon day of the Kartik month
December 25, 2018 Tuesday Christmas Holiday in several states
List Of Bank Holidays In Madhya Pradesh – 2018
Date Day Holiday
January 13, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
January 26, 2018 Friday Republic Day
January 27, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
February 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
February 14, 2018 Wednesday Maha Shivratri
February 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
March 02, 2018 Friday Holi Second Day
March 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
March 20, 2018 Tuesday Sarhul
March 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
March 29, 2018 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti
March 30, 2018 Friday Good Friday
April 02, 2018 Monday Bank Holiday - Annual closure of bank accounts
April 14, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
April 28, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
April 30, 2018 Monday Buddha Purnima
May 12, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
May 26, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
June 09, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
June 16, 2018 Saturday Eid al-Fitr
June 23, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
July 14, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
July 28, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
August 11, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
August 15, 2018 Wednesday Independence Day
August 22, 2018 Wednesday Eid al-Zuha
August 25, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
September 03, 2018 Monday Janmashtami
September 08, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
September 22, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
October 02, 2018 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
October 13, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
October 19, 2018 Friday Vijaya Dashami
October 27, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
November 07, 2018 Wednesday Diwali
November 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
November 21, 2018 Wednesday Eid-e-Milad
November 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
December 08, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
December 22, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
December 25, 2018 Tuesday Christmas

News About Madhya Pradesh Holidays

  • Bank unions in Madhya Pradesh seek public holiday for Govardhan Puja on 28 October

    The bank employees’ unions in Madhya Pradesh have approached the Chief Minister, Kamal Nath, to request a public or official bank holiday on the day after Diwali, which is Govardhan Puja, on 28 October this year. The state government has the power to declare public holidays at their discretion for the financial and banking sectors as per the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881. The unions that sent a correspondence to the Chief Minister are the Bhopal SBI Officers’ Association and the United Forum of Bank unions which represents the clerical and officer cadre of PSUs banks in the state. They have stated that only 18 public holidays, the lowest in the country, have been declared by the Madhya Pradesh government this year. Some of the states that have declared a public holiday for Govardhan Puja on 28 October are the following: Gujarat, Tripura, Sikkim, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh. Govardhan Puja is an important part of Diwali, which is major festival in the state and across all of India. It was a holiday in the past in the state of Madhya Pradesh. A response is being awaited from the Chief Minister’s office regarding this matter.

    16 October 2019

  • Schools in Bhopal and Sehore closed on 9 September due to heavy rains

    Private and government schools in Sehore and Bhopal districts of Madhya Pradesh had been instructed by the government to remain closed on 9 September 2019 due to heavy rains in several parts.

    After the heavy rains in Madhya Pradesh on 8 September 2019, the India Meteorological Department had forecasted the rains to continue till the morning of 9 September. The Wainganga River had washed away three people. However, one of them has been rescued and two are still missing. According to an order that was issued by the District Collector of Bhopal, due to the heavy rains, all private and government schools will remain closed on 9 September. Many lower areas of Bhopal have also been flooded due to the heavy rains from 7 September 2019. The India Meteorological Department has also predicted heavy rains in 32 districts till the morning of 9 September. According to PK Shah, an India Meteorological Department official, 62.1 millimetres of rain has been received by Bhopal on 8 September 2019. Officials further added that 5 gates of the Kaliasote reservoir have been opened due to the rains.

    10 September 2019

List of Indian Holidays
List of Trading Holidays 2020
List of Holidays in Different States
List of Monthly Holidays 2020

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.