Puducherry Holidays 2019

In India, a variety of holidays are being celebrated over the course of the entire year, as the country is known to be a secular one. In this article, we have compiled a list of all national, regional and bank holidays that people of Puducherry can avail during the course of 2019.

Holidays provide individuals with the opportunity to take a break from their day-to-day work schedule. These off days enable us to refresh ourselves and spend some quality time with the loved ones. However, given the hectic schedule, it has become tough to take time off from classes and offices. As such, the list of holidays has been compiled to ensure that an individual can pre-plan a vacation without needing to bunk classes or offices.

List of Public Holidays in Puducherry in 2019

Following are national, public and bank holidays in Puducherry in 2019 which residents of the state can avail during the calendar year.

Date Day Holiday Celebrated
15 January 2019 Tuesday Pongal Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
16 January 2019 Wednesday Mattu Pongal/ Thiruvalluvar Day Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day Across India
1 April 2019 Monday Bank Holiday Only for Banks
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday Across India
1 May 2019 Wednesday May Day In many states
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr In many states
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Juha/ Bakrid In many states
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day Across India
16 August 2019 Thursday De jure Transfer Day Puducherry
2 September 2019 Monday Vinayaga Chaturthi Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Across India
7 October 2019 Monday Saraswati Puja/ Ayudha Puja In some states
1 November 2019 Friday Puducherry Liberation Day Puducherry
10 November 2019 Sunday Milad-Un-Nabi In some states
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas Festival Across India

Puducherry, previously known as Pondicherry, is a union territory of India. Holidays in Puducherry in 2019 offer an insight into public, regional and bank holidays. The union territory borders Tamil Nadu are shared most of the culture from the later. Puducherry boasts of beach resorts and the French colony along with the famous Auroville.

Puducherry is one of the Union Territories of the country. The place which is known as ‘New Town’ in Tamil was formed out of four exclaves of former French India namely Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe, and Yanam. The Union Territory which has a Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of Rs.0.21 lakh crore is the third densely populated union territory in the country. Tourists from within the country as well as from abroad throng the Union Territory all through the year given that it houses several churches, monuments, among other things that were built in French colonial style.

Bank Holidays For 2019 In Puducherry

Puducherry observes bank holidays apart from national and regional holidays. During these holidays, bank officials are off work. As per the understanding between the Indian Banks’ Association and All India Bank Employees’ Association, on the second and fourth Saturdays, all public sector banks in Puducherry and other states of India are closed for business.

Below is the list of bank holidays in Puducherry in 2019:

Date Day Holiday
1 January 2019 Tuesday New Year
14 January 2019 Monday Pongal
16 January 2019 Wednesday Thiruvalluvar Day/ Mattu Pongal
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
26 January 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 February 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
23 February 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 March 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
23 March 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
1 April 2019 Monday Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts
13 April 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
27 April 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
1 May 2019 Wednesday May Day
11 May 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 May 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
5 June 2019 Wednesday Eid-ul-Fitr
8 June 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
22 June 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
13 July 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
27 July 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 August 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
12 August 2019 Monday Eid-ul-Zuha/ Bakrid
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day
16 August 2019 Friday De Jure Transfer Day
24 August 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 September 2019 Monday Vinayaga Chaturthi
14 September 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
28 September 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
7 October 2019 Monday Maha Navami
12 October 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 October 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday/ Deepavali
1 November 2019 Friday Puducherry Liberation Day
9 November 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
10 November 2019 Sunday Eid-e-Milad
23 November 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 December 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas
28 December 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday

The list of holidays in Puducherry in 2019 which includes public, regional and bank holidays observed in the union territory. This can be effectively utilised when we include our leaves offering us to take advantage over general holidays.

In addition to all the public holidays, there is another type of holiday which is called ‘Bank Holidays’. Bank holidays are basically meant for the employees and officials who are working in the banking sector. When we talk of bank holidays, the list comprises all the national and regional holidays as well as all the second and fourth Saturdays of the 12 months in the year. Though banks in the country are closed on bank holidays, ATMs of the all the banks continue to function uninterrupted. It needs to be mentioned that all banks in the country remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of any month as part of an understanding between Indian Banks’ Association and All India Bank Employees Association (AIBEA).

Public Holidays For 2018 In Puducherry

Mentioned below is the list of public holidays that residents of Puducherry can avail in the current year of 2018:

Date Day Holiday Celebrated
01 January 2018 Monday New Year’s Day In many States
14 January 2018 Sunday Pongal In a few states
15 January 2018 Monday Thiruvalluvar Day Across Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
16 January 2018 Tuesday Uzhavar Thirunal Across Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
26 January 2018 Friday Republic Day Across India
30 March 2018 Friday Good Friday In many States
01 April 2018 Sunday Annual closing of bank accounts Across India
01 May 2018 Tuesday May Day In many States
15 June 2018 Saturday Eid al-Fitr In many States
15 August 2018 Wednesday Independence Day Across India
22 August 2018 Wednesday Eid al-Adha In many States
13 September 2018 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi In many States
2 October 2018 Tuesday Birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi Across India
18 October 2018 Thursday Ayudha Puja In many States
01 November 2018 Thursday Puducherry Liberation Day Across Puducherry
7 November 2018 Wednesday Diwali In many States
21 November 2018 Wednesday Id-e-Milad In many States
25 December 2018 Tuesday Christmas Day Across India

Bank Holidays For 2018 In Puducherry

Date Day Holiday
01 January 2018 Monday New Year’s Day
13 January 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
14 January 2018 Sunday Pongal
15 January 2018 Monday Thiruvalluvar Day
16 January 2018 Tuesday Uzhavar Thirunal
26 January 2018 Friday Republic Day
27 January 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 February 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
24 February 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 March 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
24 March 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 March 2018 Friday Good Friday
01 April 2018 Sunday Annual closing of bank accounts
14 April 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
28 April 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
12 May 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
26 May 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 June 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
15 June 2018 Saturday Eid al-Fitr
23 June 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 July 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
28 July 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 August 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
15 August 2018 Wednesday Independence Day
22 August 2018 Wednesday Eid al-Adha
25 August 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
8 September 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
13 September 2018 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi
22 September 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2018 Tuesday Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi
13 October 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
18 October 2018 Thursday Ayudha Puja
27 October 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
01 November 2018 Thursday Puducherry Liberation Day
7 November 2018 Wednesday Diwali
10 November 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
21 November 2018 Wednesday Id-e-Milad
24 November 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
8 December 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
22 December 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 December 2018 Tuesday Christmas

The aforementioned dates of regional public and restricted holidays have been taken from the most authenticated and latest references. There is a possibility that the holiday dates for certain Islamic festivals and the festivals of other communities may be revised later on. We are not responsible under such circumstances.

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.