Kerala Holidays In 2019

What are the public and government holidays in Kerala in 2019? Do you want to know? Yes, many people would want to know the list of public and government holidays in advance. It helps them plan their vacations better. Kerala is a southern Indian state with a population of 33,387,677 as per the latest census. By population, Kerala is the thirteenth-biggest state. The state is clustered into 14 districts. The largest and capital city is Thiruvananthapuram. The official and most widely spoken language is Malayalam.

National And Regional Public Holidays Of Kerala In 2019

Here’s the list of public holidays in Kerala in 2019 that includes national, regional, and bank holidays that residents of Kerala can avail in the calendar year of 2019.

Date Day Holiday Celebrated
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day Across India
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri In many states
1 April 2019 Monday Bank Holiday Only for Banks
14 April 2019 Sunday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti In many states
15 April 2019 Monday Vishu Kerala only
18 April 2019 Thursday Maundy Thursday Kerala only
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday Across India
1 May 2019 Wednesday May Day In many states
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr Across India
31 June 2019 Wednesday Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala only
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Juha (Bakrid) Across India
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day Across India
24 August 2019 Saturday Sreekrishna Jayanti Kerala, Odisha and Telangana
10 September 2019 Tuesday Muharram Across India
10 September 2019 Tuesday First Onam Kerala
11 September 2019 Wednesday Thiruonam Kerala
12 September 2019 Thursday Third Onam Kerala
13 September 2019 Friday Fourth Onam Kerala
20 September 2019 Friday Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Across India
6 October 2019 Sunday Mahanavami In many states
8 October 2019 Tuesday Dusshera In many states
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali Across India
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-e-Milad Across India
11 November 2019 Monday Guru Nanak Birthday In many states
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas Festival Across India

Kerala is known for its pristine backwaters and beaches which brings out the best on a holiday. Holidays in Kerala are a welcome break from your hectic work life, and when you utilise your leaves along with the public holidays in Kerala, it gives the advantage to make the best use of your much-needed vacation.

Bank Holidays in Kerala  in 2019

Kerala has regional holidays apart from national, also, there are bank holidays that are observed in Kerala. During these bank holidays in Kerala, the banks are closed. As per an understanding between the Indian Banks’ Association and All India Bank Employees’ Association, all public sector banks in Kerala and other states of India are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month.

Below is the list of bank holidays in Kerala in 2019:

Date Day Holiday
1 January 2019 Tuesday New Year’s Day
12 January 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 January 2019 Saturday Republic Day
26 January 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
9 February 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
23 February 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
4 March 2019 Monday Maha Shivaratri
9 March 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
23 March 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday/ Shaheed Bhagat Singh’s Martyrdom Day
1 April 2019 Monday Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts
13 April 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
19 April 2019 Friday Good Friday
27 April 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
1 May 2019 Wednesday May Day
11 May 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 May 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
5 June 2019 Wednesday Id-ul-Fitr
8 June 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
22 June 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
13 July 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
27 July 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 August 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
11 August 2019 Sunday First Onam
12 August 2019 Monday Id-ul-Adha/ Bakrid
15 August 2019 Thursday Independence Day/ Raksha Bandhan
24 August 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday/ Janmashtami
27 August 2019 Tuesday Shree Narayana Guru Jayanti
10 September 2019 Tuesday Muharram
14 September 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
21 September 2019 Saturday Shree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day
28 September 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
2 October 2019 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 October 2019 Tuesday Vijaya Dashami
12 October 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
26 October 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 October 2019 Sunday Diwali
9 November 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
10 November 2019 Sunday Id-E-Milad
23 November 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 December 2019 Saturday Second Saturday
25 December 2019 Wednesday Christmas
28 December 2019 Saturday Fourth Saturday

The 2019 list of holidays in Kerala offers an insight into holidays which could be utilised to plan your leaves as well as schedule your business operations and activities. The mentioned holiday list in Kerala in 2019 could help you plan your vacations effectively. With this list of 2019 Kerala holidays, one can plan leaves along with the holidays during the calendar year in Kerala effectively.

Note: All banks remain closed during bank holidays in Kerala, but ATMs will be open.

Note: All banks remain closed during bank holidays in Kerala, but ATMs will be open.

Festival Holidays In Kerala Or Kerala Holidays In 2019

Onam is a renowned festival in Kerala. The festival is celebrated in 2019 on 9 September 2019. The remarkable feature of this festival is that it comprises of Indoor and outdoor games, boat race, Kathakali dance and several featuring songs.

Vishu is one of the most vital festivals of Kerala. It is said to be the New Year in the state. The festival is celebrated on 15 April in 2019. Vishu, being a harvest festival, brings lovely weather conditions.

Thrissur Pooram is one of the popular temple festivals in Kerala. It has been celebrated for more than 200 years. The festival is celebrated for 36 hours.

Like other states, Christmas Day is a famous festival in Kerala. It is celebrated on 25 December 2019 with happiness and joy. The major attractions during the festivals include Kerala sweets, Cathedrals and Christmas mass.

Destinations To Celebrate Kerala Holidays 2019

What are the most famous destinations in Kerala to spend holidays? Goa is the most preferred destination to celebrate the New Year and the festival of Christmas. Likewise, Kerala, called an actual heaven on the earth, has many pleasing localities to visit during holidays. The state attracts tourists from all parts of the world, but not necessarily from India. The top three holiday destinations in the state include:

Alapuzha Backwaters: It is a notable backwater tourist point to spend holidays with your friends and families. Alapuzha Backwaters is renowned Venice of the East. The destination is well-known for its beaches, boat contests and houseboat holidays.

Munnar: Munnar is famous for its comprehensive tea estates. It is a must-visit holiday destination for people interested to see how tea is picked and processed. You can also visit a museum of tea nearby to this destination.

Cochin: Cochin or Kochi is one of the renowned seaports in the country. The main tourist points in Cochin include Santa Cruz Basilica, Chinese fishing nets, Dutch Cemetery, Jewish Synagogue, Cochin Thirumala Devaswom Temple and many others.

National And Regional Public Holidays Of Kerala In 2018

Date Day Holiday Remarks
02 January 2018 Tuesday Mannam Jayanthi Only Kerala
26 January 2018 Friday Republic Day Honors the establishment of Indian Constitution
13 February 2018 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri  
29 March 2018 Thursday Maundry Thursday Only Kerala
30 March 2018 Friday Good Friday  
01 April 2018 Sunday Bank Holiday Only banks
14 April 2018 Saturday Dr Ambedkar Jayanthi Birthday of Dr.Ambedkar
15 April 2018 Sunday Vishu Only Kerala
01 May 2018 Tuesday May Day Many states
15 June 2018 Friday Idul Fitr Many states
11 August 2018 Saturday Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
15 August 2018 Wednesday Independence Day Throughout India
22 August 2018 Wednesday Idul Juha Bakrid
24 August 2018 Friday First Onam Kerala only
25 August 2018 Saturday Thiruvonam Kerala only
26 August 2018 Sunday Third Onam Kerala only
27 August 2018 Monday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi Kerala only
02 September 2018 Sunday Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha,
20 September 2018 Thursday Muharram Day of Ashurah
21 September 2018 Friday Sree Naryana Guru Samadhi Kerala only
02 October 2018 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi Throughout India
18 October 2018 Thursday Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha,
19 October 2018 Friday Dusshera  
06 November 2018 Tuesday Deepavali Tamil Nadu, Kerala
21 November 2018 Wednesday Id-e-Millad  
23 November 2018 Friday Guru Nanak Birthday The birthday of the founder Sikhism
25 December 2018 Tuesday Christmas Day Throughout India

Bank Holidays Kerala In Year 2018

Holiday Day Date
Republic Day Friday 26 January 2018
Maha Shivaratri Tuesday 13 February 2018
Good Friday Friday 30 March 2018
Easter Sunday Sunday 01 April
Ambedkar Jayanti Saturday 14 April 2018
Vishu Sunday 15 April 2018
May Day Tuesday 01 May 2018
Idul Fitr Friday 15 June 2018
Independence Day Wednesday 15 August 2018
Bakrid Wednesday 22 August 2018
First Onam Friday 24 August 2018
Thiruvonam Saturday 25 August 2018
Narayan Guru Jayanti Monday 27 August 2018
Narayan Guru Samadhi Friday 21 September 2018
Gandhi Jayanti Tuesday 02 October 2018
Maha Navami Thursday 18 October 2018
Vijaya Dashami Friday 19 October 2018
Deepavali Tuesday 06 November 2018
Eid e Milad Wednesday 21 November 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 2018

The aforementioned dates of regional public and restricted holidays have been taken from the most authenticated and latest references. There is a possibility that the holiday dates for certain Islamic festivals and the festivals of other communities may be revised later on. We are not responsible under such circumstances.

News About Holidays in Kerala

  • Education institutions to remain closed tomorrow in Kerala

    The educational institutions will remain closed on Wednesday, 17 October 2018, on account of Durga Puja as per the notification issued by the State Government of Kerala. Mahanavami Pooja shall be observed on Wednesday and Thursday as far as this year is concerned. According to the government order, the extra holiday has to be compensated by scheduling classes on an extra day afterwards. All the examinations of Kerala University have been deferred because of the prolonged holidays in the state. The school parliament election has also been postponed from 17 October 2018 to 22 October 2018.

    16 October 2018

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.