• Tamil Nadu Holidays In 2018

    How important are holidays for you? Yes, of course, holidays are a good time for all classes of people to celebrate festivals with their families and friends and plan a trip to nearby places. If you are from Tamil Nadu and looking for the list of holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2018, this page is for you. The state government of Tamil Nadu announced the list of public and regional holidays for 2018. Tamil Nadu, a southern Indian state, is the eleventh-biggest state in the country by area. Chennai is the biggest and capital city of Tamil Nadu.

    The List Of National And Public Holidays Of Tamil Nadu 2018

    Holiday Date Day Remarks
    New Years Day 01 January 2018 Monday Tamil Nadu, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur
    Pongal 14 January 2018 Sunday Makar Sankrati
    Thiruvalluvar Day 15 January 2018 Monday Tamil Nadu-specific holiday
    Uzhavar Tirunal 16 June 2018 Tuesday Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
    Republic Day 26 January 2018 Friday Throughout India
    Holi 02 March 2018 Friday  
    Ugadi 18 March 2018 Sunday Telugu and Kannada New Year
    Mahavir Jayanti 29 March 2018 Thursday Religious festival in Jainism
    Bank Holiday 01 April 2018 Sunday Year account closing day
    Good Friday 30 March 2018 Friday  
    Bank Holiday 01 April 2018 Sunday Year account closing day
    Ambedkar Jayanti 14 April 2018 Saturday Birthday of Ambedkar
    Buddha Purnima 30 April 2018 Monday  
    May Day 01 May 2018 Tuesday Several states
    Idul Fitr 15 June 2018 Friday Many states
    Independence Day 15 August 2018 Wednesday Throughout India
    Idul Juha 22 August 2018 Wednesday Bakrid several states
    Sunday 02 September 2018 Janmashtami Tamil Nadu honors the birth of Lord Shiva
    Ganesh Festival 13 September 2018 Thursday Vinayaka Vrata
    Muhurram 21 September 2018 Friday Several states
    Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti 02 October 2018 Tuesday Throughput India
    Ayudha Puja 18 October 2018 Thursday Tamil Nadu, Karnataka
    Dusshera 19 October 2018 Friday Vijay Dashami
    Deepavali 06 November 2018 Tuesday Tamil Nadu, Kerala
    Id-e-Milad 21 November 2018 Wednesday  
    Christmas Day 25 December 2018 Thursday All states

    Tamil Nadu Bank Holidays In Year 2018

    Holiday Day Date
    New Year Monday 1 January 2018
    Pongal Sunday 14 January 2018
    Thiruvalluvar Day Monday 15 January 2018
    Uzhavar Thirunal Tuesday 16 January 2018
    Republic Day Friday 26 January 2018
    Telugu New Year Sunday 18 March 2018
    Mahavir Jayanti Thursday 29 March 2018
    Good Friday Friday 30 March 2018
    Ambedkar Jayanti Saturday 14 April 2018
    May Day Tuesday 01 May 2018
    Idul Fitr Friday 15 June 2018
    Dev Ji’s Martyrdom Day Sunday 17 June 2018
    Independence Day Wednesday 15 August 2018
    Bakrid Wednesday 22 August 2018
    Janmashtami Monday 03 September 2018
    Ganesh Festival Thursday 13 September 2018
    Muharram Friday 21 September 2018
    Gandhi Jayanti Tuesday 02 October 2018
    Maha Navami Thursday 18 October 2018
    Vijaya Dashami Friday 19 October 2018
    Deewali Tuesday 06 November 2018
    Eid-e-Milad Wednesday 21 November 2018
    Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 2018

    All banks will remain closed during bank holidays, but ATMs will be open.

    Why Do People Need Holidays?

    Holidays are important to each one of us. They are a better time to spend quality time with your friends and families. Holidaying at least twice a year is suggested. It assists you to indulge in your preferred pass time and relax. Holidays enable you to experience the real joy and happiness. Working professionals are able to work more competitively with a fresh attitude. The following table illustrates the list of national and regional public holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2018:

    Best Destinations In Tamil Nadu To Plan A Trip During Holidays In Tamil Nadu

    Working professionals would like to plan a trip during holidays in Tamil Nadu. The following are the top five destinations in Tamil Nadu to spend during holidays:

    • Chennai: Chennai is renowned for temples, culture and beaches. The major tourist points in the city include Kapileshwar Temple and Marina Beach. You can spend 2-3 days to experience the real beauty of the city, which is nearer to Kanchipuram and Mahabalipuram.
    • Mahabalipuram: The city is famous for beaches and temples like Chennai. You can spend 1-2 days to visit the major tourist points such as Pancha Rathas and Shore Temple.
    • Kanyakumari: The city of Kanyakumari is well-known for its distinctive tradition, temples and beaches. People can pan a 1-2 day tour to this city to explore the beauty of Vivekananda Rock Memorial and Thiruvalluvar Statue.
    • Madurai: Madurai is an ideal tourist destination to spend holidays in Tamil Nadu. The city houses a vast number of beautiful temples. Meenakshi Amman temple is the major tourist center in the city.
    • Kodaikanal: Kodaikanal, a small hill station, is the most attractive tourist destination to spend holidays in Tamil Nadu. Dolphin’s Nose is the prime tourist place in the city. You can spend 1-2 days.

    Enjoy Your Holidays With Best Travel Credit Cards

    The aforementioned dates of regional public and restricted holidays have been taken from the most authenticated and latest references. There is a possibility that the holiday dates for certain Islamic festivals and the festivals of other communities may be revised later on. We are not responsible under such circumstances.

    List of Indian Holidays
    List of Trading Holidays 2018
    List of Holidays in Different States
    List of Monthly Holidays 2018/2019
    reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
    This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.