Jharkhand Holidays 2018

This page focuses on the list of holidays in Jharkhand for the year 2018. India, being a fervent and culturally diverse society, celebrates several festivals and thus, there are different holidays. Each state in India has local occasions depending on predominant linguistic and religious demographics.

List Of Holidays In Jharkhand – 2018

Date Day Holiday Remarks
January 26, 2018 Friday Republic Day All over India
February 13, 2018 Tuesday Maha Shivratri Holiday in several states. It is celebrated on the thirteenth night and the fourteenth day of Krishna Paksha
March 01, 2018 Thursday Doljatra Holiday in Jharkhand. Holi Dahan
March 02, 2018 Friday Holi Celebrated across North India. Holiday in several states
March 20, 2018 Tuesday Sarhul Holiday only in Jharkhand
March 29, 2018 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti An important religious day for Jains
March 30, 2018 Friday Good Friday The Friday before the Easter Sunday
April 01, 2018 Sunday Bank holiday Only for banks. Closing day of annual accounts
April 14, 2018 Saturday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar’s birthday
April 30, 2018 Monday Buddha Purnima Buddha’s Birth
June 16, 2018 Saturday Eid ul Fitr Holiday in several states
August 15, 2018 Wednesday Independence Day Holiday in all states
August 22, 2018 Wednesday Idul Juha Bakrid – Holiday in many states
September 03, 2018 Monday Janmashtami Birth of Lord Krishna
September 20, 2018 Thursday Karam It is the eleventh day of the full moon during the Bhadro month
September 21, 2018 Friday Muharram Holiday in several states
October 02, 2018 Tuesday National Holiday Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
October 17, 2018 Wednesday Durgastami Holiday in several states
October 18, 2018 Thursday Navami of Durga Puja Holiday in several states
October 19, 2018 Friday Dussehra Vijaya Dashami/Dasara
November 07, 2018 Wednesday Diwali Holiday in several states
November 23, 2018 Friday Guru Nanak’s Birthday Guru Nanak is the founder of Sikhism. His birthday falls on the full moon day of the Kartik month
December 25, 2018 Tuesday Christmas Holiday in several states

Holidays in India are clustered, as there are different festivals and categories involved. However, talking about a state like Jharkhand in specific, the calendar year features multiple holiday categories. But the major ones are bank holidays, national holidays, regional holidays, and public holidays. Before reading through the list of holidays in Jharkhand, here is a quick introduction to the city.

Jharkhand is a state located in the eastern region of India and was an important part of Bihar until 2000. Its capital is Ranchi and is one of the important trade hubs in India. Spread about an area of 30,778 sq. mi, Jharkhand is also enriched with different mineral resources like copper, coal, and iron. In fact, it is India’s biggest manufacturer of iron and copper ore.

List Of Bank Holidays In Jharkhand – 2018

Bank holidays are business days, during which loan organizations, savings institutions, and commercial banks are closed for the public. A bank holiday is more pertinent to physical bank locations and therefore, the online bank services are still operative. These types of holidays differ from one country to the other and are defined by certain rules. 

Unlike a stock market holiday, a bank holiday does not incorporate an early closure. Moreover, bank holidays do not occur for two working days consecutively, as this can cause a huge disruption in everyday financial flows and transactions.

Despite holidays, a majority of the net banking systems allow access to the customers. Some of the popular and common online services offered by banks even on holidays include fund transfers, withdrawals, bill payments, and deposits.

Date Day Holiday
January 13, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
January 26, 2018 Friday Republic Day
January 27, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
February 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
February 14, 2018 Wednesday Maha Shivratri
February 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
March 01, 2018 Thursday Holika Dahan
March 02, 2018 Friday Holi Second Day
March 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
March 20, 2018 Tuesday Sarhul
March 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
April 01, 2018 Sunday Annual closure of bank accounts
April 14, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
April 28, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
April 30, 2018 Monday Buddha Purnima
May 12, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
May 26, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
June 09, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
June 16, 2018 Saturday Eid al-Fitr
June 23, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
July 14, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
July 28, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
August 11, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
August 15, 2018 Wednesday Independence Day
August 22, 2018 Wednesday Eid al-Zuha
August 25, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
September 03, 2018 Monday Janmashtami
September 08, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
September 21, 2018 Friday Muharram
September 22, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
October 02, 2018 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
October 13, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
October 17, 2018 Wednesday Maha Ashtami
October 18, 2018 Thursday Maha Navami
October 19, 2018 Friday Vijaya Dashami
October 27, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
November 07, 2018 Wednesday Diwali
November 10, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
November 13, 2018 Tuesday Surya Shashthi
November 23, 2018 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti
November 24, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
December 08, 2018 Saturday Second Saturday
December 22, 2018 Saturday Fourth Saturday
December 25, 2018 Tuesday Christmas

Note: The second and fourth Saturdays of every month is declared as a public holiday for all banks that are operating across India.

The aforementioned dates of regional public and restricted holidays have been taken from the most authenticated and latest references. There is a possibility that the holiday dates for certain Islamic festivals and the festivals of other communities may be revised later on. We are not responsible under such circumstances.

List of Indian Holidays
List of Trading Holidays 2018
List of Holidays in Different States
List of Monthly Holidays 2018/2019
reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.