Qatar Offers Visa-Free Entry

Earlier, Qatar decided to offer a pre-approved transit visa to certain nationalities who were visiting the country between 5 to 96 hours. Prior to the announcement, the visa for Qatar was considered to be expensive by travellers from many countries. However, in order to boost tourism and business, Qatar has decided to provide visa-free entry to nationalities from 80 countries. Though only specific countries are entitled to a longer period of stay, all the listed nationalities can obtain the multi-entry visa at the port of entry upon producing their valid passport (with six months validity) with the confirmed return ticket. The initiative is speculated to be a part of the upcoming football World Cup in 2022 which will attract a huge amount of people from around the globe.

Qatar E-Visa Program

Recently, Qatar also launched the e-Visa program which allows applicants to apply for a tourist or visitor visas with greater ease and efficiency. There are many more initiatives that Qatar has taken to facilitate an easier access to the country. The e-Visa platform allows travellers from the following countries to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorisation upon completion of a simple application at least 48 hours prior to the travel -

  • Bahrain
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Canada, Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Schengen countries

Qatar Visa-Waiver Program

Earlier, the nationalities from these countries were required to apply for a visa in order to visit Qatar. However, the changes to the Qatar visa policy will allow those nationalities to take advantage of the free-of-charge multi-entry visa waiver at the port of entry. The traveller must produce a valid passport with a minimum of six months of validity and a confirmed return ticket to be eligible for the visa-free entry program.

The 80 countries who are eligible for the visa-free entry are divided into two categories. The visa waiver program allows the travellers from 47 countries to spend up to 30 days in Qatar while the other 33 countries are entitled to a stay period up to 90 days. Based on the nationality of the traveller, he/she will be entitled to the multi-entry visa waiver which will be valid for 180 days from the date of issue and it will allow a stay up to a maximum of 90 days. If the traveller represents a country which is a part of the 47 countries list, he/she will be entitled to a free-of-cost multi-entry visa which will be valid for a maximum of 30 days and it will also allow staying for up to 30 days. However, the traveller from one of the 47 countries can also apply for an extension of additional 30 days stay period.

The following table contains the list of 33 countries, the citizens of these countries are entitled to the visa-free entry scheme -

Name of the 33 countries
Austria Czech Republic Greece Lithuania Portugal Sweden
Bahamas Denmark Hungary Luxembourg Romania Switzerland
Belgium Estonia Iceland Malta Seychelles Turkey
Bulgaria Finland Italy Netherlands Slovakia
Croatia France Latvia Norway Slovenia
Cyprus Germany Liechtenstein Poland Spain

The following table contains the list of 47 countries, the citizens of these countries are entitled to the visa-free entry scheme -

Name of the 47 countries
Andorra Chile Hong Kong Macedonia Peru Thailand
Argentina China India Malaysia Russia Ukraine
Australia Colombia Indonesia Maldives San Marino United Kingdom
Belarus Ecuador Ireland Mexico Singapore United States
Bolivia Panama Japan Moldova South Africa Uruguay
Brazil Costa Rica Kazakhstan Monaco South Korea Vatican City
Brunei Georgia Lebanon New Zealand Suriname Venezuela
Canada Guyana Azerbaijan Paraguay Cuba

Qatar takes pride in making the visa-free announcement which will allow visitors to discover Qatar's renowned hospitality, nature, cultural heritage and a lot more. The announcement of the Qatar's new visa waiver scheme has made it the most open country in the region. Though the entry to Qatar is at the sole discretion of Qatar’s Ministry of Interior which will decide on the approval or rejection of a visitor's application, the country is looking at promoting tourism which will eventually lead to economic growth.

News about Qatar Offers Visa-Free Entry

  • E-visa facility causes a surge in tourism

    International tourists visiting India has spiked by 73.3% annually. This maybe a direct impact on the nation’s e-visa facility. The ministry of tourism states that out of all the travellers using the nation’s online visa portal to obtain a visa, UK has the most number of travellers, amounting to 12.9% of all travellers. Following them is the visitors from the US and UAE amounting to 12% and 7.2% respectively.

    The country has had a total of 5,674,000 visitors in the first six months of 2017 as opposed to 4,903,000 visitors who visited India January and July in 2016.

    12 September 2017

About Visa
Visa FAQs
Types of Visa
About H1B Visa
Top Countries Based Visa
Other Articles

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.