Odisha Transport and Vehicle Registration Details

The Motor Vehicles Act of 1988 makes it mandatory to register every vehicle running in the country. Vehicles in the country are provided a distinct and unique registration number based on the RTO office and the state in which the vehicle is being purchased from. Vehicle registration is a step-by-step process with some procedures to be followed. Some of the most common processes that have to be carried out in relation to the registration process have been listed below.

Temporary registration of two wheelers in Odisha

Temporary registration will have to be applied for by the vehicle owner with the concerned authority. This registration is only valid for one month and has to be renewed upon expiry. This is generally done by the dealer on behalf of the owner of the two wheeler.

Permanent registration of two wheelers in Odisha

Permanent registration of two wheelers for non-commercial use in Odisha can be done by following the steps provided below:

  • Vehicle registration can be applied for either by the owner or the dealer on behalf of the owner.
  • Permanent registration can be applied for by owners who have already got a temporary registration for their vehicles.
  • Applicants have to fill the Form 20 and submit it for taking the registration process forward. The Form 20 consists of all the details necessary for the RTO to process the application. The form can either be downloaded from the prescribed website or obtained from the RTO office.
  • The vehicle should be produced for inspection when applying for registration to a Regional Transport Officer.

Changing address in the registration certificate

There is an option provided to the owners to change the address in the registration certificate. This can be applied for with a Grade I Motor Vehicle Inspector or a Regional Transport Officer.

Renewal of Registration

Renewal of registration certificate of vehicles should be done after the end of 15 years from the date when the vehicle was first registered. This process should be done at least 60 days before the date of expiry of registration. The vehicle should be produced for inspection during the time of renewal and this process can be applied for with a Regional Transport Officer.

Documents to be submitted for the above processes

The required documents to do all of these procedures have been listed below:

  • Documents required for temporary registration of two wheelers

    • Address proof
    • Pan card
    • Two Wheeler Insurance certificate
    • Form-21 which is the sales certificate of the vehicle
    • Form-20 which is needed for temporary registration of vehicles
    • Form-22 which specifies the pollution levels and road worthiness of the vehicle
  • Documents required for permanent registration of two wheelers

    • Form-20
    • Form-21, a form issued by the manufacturer
    • Form 22
    • Pan card
    • Address Proof
    • Valid insurance certificate
  • For renewal of registration

    • Form-25 which is to be submitted for the registration renewal process
    • Registration certificate
    • Valid insurance certificate
    • Emission certificate

The documents listed above are some of the mandatory documents required for the registration of your vehicle in all the states the country. Some of the states might ask you to submit additional documents apart from the ones mentioned in the list above. The application can be processed online by visiting the Odisha state transport website. The applications are processed after uploading the necessary documents. An acknowledgement form along with a copy of the application form obtained from the website has to be submitted at the RTO office to complete the process.

Knowing your registration certificate status online

There is a simple option to check the status of your registration certificate online instead of going to the RTO office every time for a progress update. Visit www.parivahan.gov.in and go to the ‘Know your vehicle details’ tab. Entering the registration number will display the current status of the registration certificate.

Odisha RTO Codes

OD RTO Location ODRTO Code ODRTO Location OD RTO Code
Balasore OD 01 Bhubaneswar OD 02
Balangir OD 03 Chandikhole OD 04
Cuttack OD 05 Dhenkanal OD 06
Ganjam OD 07 Kalahandi OD 08
Keonjhar OD 09 Koraput OD 10
Mayurbhanj OD 11 Phulabani OD 12
Puri OD 13 Rourkela OD 14
Sambalpur OD 15 Sundergarh OD 16
Baragarh OD 17 Rayagada OD 18
Angul OD 19 Gajapati OD 20
Jagatsinghpur OD 21 Bhadrak OD 22
Jharsuguda OD 23 Nabarangpur OD 24
Nayagarh OD 25 Nuapada OD 26
Boudh OD 27 Debagarh OD 28
Kendrapada OD 29 Malkangiri OD 30
Sonepur OD 31 Bhanjanagar OD 32
Bhubaneswar - II OD 33 Jajpur OD 34

Knowing all these processes will be very helpful during the registration or renewal process. Having an idea about the documents required and the steps involved in the registration process can help simplify the procedure for the applicant.

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.