How to Register a Vehicle in West Bengal RTO

The West Bengal Transport Department implements and enforces the rules and regulations of the Motor Vehicles Act 1988, in the state of West Bengal. The Transport Department of the state ensures that the provisions under the Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1924 (Amended 1993) is carried out meticulously. It also ensures that the taxes are collected as per the rules.

How to Register Vehicle in RTO West Bengal

To register your vehicle in an RTO in the state of West Bengal, follow the steps given below:

  • Step 1: Visit the nearest RTO
  • Step 2: Obtain the application form for your vehicle registration at the RTO or download it from the website
  • Step 3: Fill up the application form with accurate details and sign it in the required places
  • Step 4: Submit the vehicle registration application form along with the documents required

The registration certificate will be sent to you after the verification procedures have all been completed.

Documents Required for Vehicle Registration in RTO West Bengal

The following documents are required for vehicle registration in West Bengal:

  • Vehicle registration application (Form 20)
  • Proof of address and age
  • Passport size photographs
  • Applicable application fee
  • Road worthiness certificate (Form 22)
  • Vehicle insurance certificate
  • Vehicle invoice
  • Pollution Under Control certifica

Functions of West Bengal RTO

The RTO in West Bengal carries out the following functions:

  • Issuance of all kinds of vehicle permits as well as their cancellations
  • Issuance of NOC and fitness certificates as well as their renewal or duplicates
  • Collection of road taxes as well as new vehicle tax
  • Issuance of driving licenses for individuals and driving schools
  • Reissue, renewal, and registration of all kinds of motor vehicles

Contact Details of RTO in West Bengal

You can contact the West Bengal RTO at the address and phone number given below:


Public Vehicles Department 38,

Beltala Road,

West Bengal-700020

Phone: + (91)-33-24751621/24751622

RTO Codes in West Bengal

Here are the RTO codes for West Bengal:

RTO Locations RTO Code RTO Locations RTO Code RTO Locations RTO Code RTO Locations RTO Code
Alipore, South 24 Parganas WB19 Birbhum WB54 Howrah WB12 Kolkata WB06
Alipore, South 24 Parganas WB20 Bolpur WB47 Howrah Uluberia WB14 Kolkata WB07
Alipurduar WB69 Bolpur WB48 Howrah Uluberia WB13 Kolkata Salt Lake WB08
Alipurduar WB70 Balurghat WB61 Islampur WB91 Mathabhanga WB82
Alipore, South 24 Parganas WB22 Balurghat WB62 Islampur WB92 Mathabhanga WB86
Asansol WB44 Burdwan WB41 Jangipur, (Murshidabad District) WB93 Malda WB65
Asansol WB44A Burdwan WB42 Jangipur (Murshidabad) WB94 Malda WB66
Asansol WB44B Chandannagar WB18 Jalpaiguri WB71 Midnapur WB33
Asansol WB44C Cooch Behar WB63 Jalpaiguri WB72 Midnapur WB34
Asansol WB44D Cooch Behar WB64 Kalna WB43 Murshidabad WB57
Asansol WB37 Contai WB31 Kalna WB44E Murshidabad WB58
Asansol WB38 Contai WB32 Kalimpong WB77 Nadia WB51
Barrackpore WB24 Darjeeling WB77 Kalimpong WB78 Nadia WB52
Barasat WB25 Darjeeling WB76 Kalyani WB89 Purulia WB55
Barasat WB26 Durgapur WB39 Kalyani WB90 Purulia WB56
Barrackpore WB23 Durgapur WB40 Kolkata WB01 Raiganj WB59
Bankura WB67 Hooghly WB15 Kolkata WB02 Raiganj WB60
Bankura WB68 Hooghly WB16 Kolkata WB03 Raghunathpur WB79
Baruipur WB96 Hooghly WB17 Kolkata WB04 Siliguri WB73
Birbhum WB53 Howrah WB11 Kolkata WB05 Siliguri WB74
Tamluk WB29
Tamluk WB30
Driving Licence
How To Apply for DL in States
How To Apply for LL in States
DL Related Articles
How to Apply for DL in Cities
How To Apply for RTO in States

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.