Andhra Pradesh Professional Tax Slab Rate

Professional tax slabs in Andhra Pradesh are revised on an annual basis. Tax is deducted from an employee’s monthly income based on the slab rates and paid to the state. The amount deducted as professional tax varies based on the individual’s income.
Professional Tax in India:

Professional tax is tax payable to the government in India and is mandatory just like income tax. The tax is levied on salaried individuals or people practising professions such as doctor, lawyer, chartered accountant, etc. The tax has to be paid to the state government by the owner of the business. Applicability of professional tax is well stated in article 276 of Constitution of India. The maximum amount payable as professional tax is Rs.2,500 per year. Professional tax is one of the main sources of revenue for the government in India.

Andhra Pradesh Professional Tax Slab Rate:

Andhra Pradesh has its own professional tax slab rate. The professional tax slab rate is revised every year. Given below is the professional tax slab rate of Andhra Pradesh for the financial year 2015-2016 depending on the salary.

Monthly Income Professional Tax Levied
For salary up to Rs.15,000 Nil
For salary between Rs.15,001 to Rs.20,000 Rs.150 per month
For salary of Rs.20,001 and above Rs.200 per month
Who has to Pay Professional Tax in India?

As stated in article 276 of the Indian constitution, any resident of India who is earning income from salary or is practising a profession such as doctor, chartered accountant, lawyer, etc should pay professional tax to the state government compulsorily. The professional tax is to be paid to the state government and the professional tax levied is different for each state. Given below is a list of states in India where professional tax is levied.

  • Karnataka
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Tamil Nadu
  • West Bengal
  • Telangana
  • Gujarat
  • Assam
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Kerala
  • Meghalaya
  • Orissa
  • Tripura
  • Maharashtra
Professional Tax Slab Rate:

The professional tax to be paid to the state government depends on the professional tax slab rate in the particular state for that year. The professional tax slab rate varies from each state and is revised every year. The taxpayer has to pay the tax according to the tax slab rate and their income in accordance with the tax slab rate.

Who Deducts Professional Tax?

Professional tax is deducted by the owner of the business from the income of the employees. The tax is later collected and paid to the state government. The business owner should apply for registration of professional tax within 30 days of employing an individual.

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.