Insurance is like a spare tyre. You may not require it, but not having one is not an option.

Why and When Do You Need A Car Inspection

 4.5 / 5.0   by 2245 users
Used this product? Write a review >>

Policy Coverage

Customer Service

Claim Experience

Responsiveness

Cashless Garages

Inspection of the vehicle forms an integral part of the car insurance process. If you forget to renew your car insurance policy on time, the same will lapse. This means that you will have to undergo the entire process, beginning from applying for a policy. However, failure to renew a policy can also cause the insurer to reject your application or charge you a higher premium. Talking about vehicle inspection, there are certain situations when an inspection is mandatory, whereas some situations where it isn’t required. Here we will discuss both situations, along with the process that is involved in the inspection of a vehicle for insurance purposes.

When Is Car Inspection Required:

If you are renewing your car insurance policy, a car inspection will be carried out compulsorily. However, there are several other instances when a car inspection will be carried out.

  • If there has been a gap between the date when your policy expires and the due date before which you were supposed to renew your policy, the policy will lapse, which will require an inspection.
  • If you are switching from a third party only policy to a comprehensive policy, the insurance company will ask to inspect your vehicle.
  • An inspection is also required if the policy has been transferred to another person. This means that if you have sold your vehicle to another person, then it is compulsory for you car’s insurance policy to also be transferred to the new owner, in their name. It is entirely up to the new owner to either cancel the existing policy and take a new one or continue with the same policy. However, whatever the case, as long as the policy is being transferred to another owner, the insurance company will inspect the vehicle.
  • Vehicle inspection will also be done if you have gotten additional accessories or equipment such as anti-theft devices, CNG kit, etc. fitted in your vehicle and you want to purchase cover for those accessories.
  • Vehicle inspection if of course mandatory when your vehicle has met with an accident and has been damaged due to any peril covered under the policy. In such cases, the inspection of the vehicle will be done be carried out either by the insurer or an authorized surveyor who will assess the damages and estimate the cost of repairs. The inspection is also done, in this case, to find out if the claim being made is not fabricated.

When Is A Car Inspection Not Required:

Inspection of a vehicle will not be required if it is being insured only against third party liability. Also, inspection of the vehicle is not necessary if there has been no gap between the policy’s expiry date and the due date of renewal of the policy. When the policy is renewed in time, it does not lapse.

There are certain insurance companies which will carry out the vehicle inspection free of cost, while there are others which may charge a fee for doing so. Inspection of the vehicle, for insurance purposes, will either be done by an authorized agent or by an official from the insurance company.

Vehicle Inspection Process:

When we speak of vehicle inspection for insurance purposes, it refers to the physical examination of the vehicle. A physical examination is done primarily for two reasons which are (i) To confirm that the vehicle being insured does exist, and (ii) To observe and record the condition of the vehicle to prevent the policyholder from making a claim for any pre-existing damages.

For the purpose of inspection, the authorized surveyor or insurance company person will note some details of the vehicle such as its chassis number and registration number. The will also take pictures of your vehicle as visual proof to document your vehicle’s condition. In case the vehicle shows signs of any damages or dents, the same will also be photographed. The physical inspection will also include inspection of all devices which have been installed or fitted separately in the vehicle and are not a part of the factory fittings.

GST Update: GST of 18% is applicable on car insurance effective from the 1st of July, 2017

Claim Reviews

Page 1 of 50 1 2 3 4 5
  • Tata AIG Car Insurance
    "Excellent Service"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    It has been a good insurance policy and the premium has been paying annually. The premium amount has been nominal and the payment method has been easy. I had not yet made any claims so far and there has been cashless garages available as well....
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 14, 2018
  • Universal Sompo Car Insurance
    " Good protection for four wheeler"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    All policies with Unviersal sompo, whenever I call they respond well on the toll free helpline. The policy covers fully my car compared to other insurer, the beginning it was zero depreciation plan, they gave me the insured declared value.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 14, 2018
  • L and T Car Insurance
    "Its Good"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    The dealer gave me L & T general insurance policy for my car the premium amount is nominal for the tenure of one year, I have old Tokyo Innova, hence I took comprehensive and third party cover, they do have road side assistance and 24 hours services on time.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 14, 2018
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Good protection for four wheeler"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    From ICICI lombard I have taken car insurance for Hyundai I20, first time when I paid the around Rs. 25,000 when it was new car, now recently I paid is around Rs. 17,000 now its been 2.5 years old. The plan is called zero depreciation, with road side assistance, 24 hours services.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 14, 2018
  • Bajaj Allianz Car Insurance
    "Low premium with better benefits"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    One more policy taken for my another car its Maruthi dezire I paid the premium around Rs. 4000 its a old car, around 6 to 7 years, I have comprehensive plan its not zero depreciation plan. The customer service is good the premium is low and the max cover is nice.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Dec 13, 2018
  • Bajaj Allianz Car Insurance
    "Low premium with better benefits"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    My both the polices are insured with Bajaj Allianz, I have taken one policy for my Maruthi Ciaz car, I paid the premium was around Rs. 8000, I have taken the comprehensive it covers for the loss, damage, other natural disaster, hence I am fine with them.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Dec 13, 2018
  • Tata AIG Car Insurance
    "Good Policy"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    I hold a car insurance with TATA AIG general insurance from last 10 months, a premium of Rs 16000 has to be paid for this insurance policy. There was no claim experience so far with this insurance and this policy has full coverage with 0% depreciation.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 11, 2018
  • Tata AIG Car Insurance
    "Complete protection with Tata Aig"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    I approached Tata Aig through their agent, he have taken initiative to generate the policy on time, I have received the policy document on time, the premium amt around Rs. 11k for one year, I have road side assistance with engine protection, tier cover with best insured value.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , keonjhar
    Reviewed on Dec 10, 2018
  • Royal Sundaram Car Insurance
    "Good Product"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    For my Maruthi car I took Royal sundaram general insurance through dealer I have approached the premium is reasonable, I don't think its a comprehensive plan. Once I had claim I met with the accident, there was a car damage, they gave 70% of claim, remaining I paid from my end.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 07, 2018
  • Reliance General Car Insurance
    "GOOD"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE is the insurer where i have taken my car insurance and the premium i paid which is nominal added on that the IDV value is also sufficient with this policy. The policy coverage is for bumper to bumper for this policy.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 07, 2018
  • SBI General Car Insurance
    "GOOD"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    I had a claim of 44k with the SBI GENERAL INSURANCE where i have taken the card insurance and the claim is of reimbursement and i got within the one day. The premium is nominal and the IDV is nominal. The coverage is for bumper to bumper. The process is good with this policy.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 07, 2018
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Good Protection for four wheeler"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    The car policy with ICICI lombard is good and they are economical on the cost wise, I took policy for one year I took 100% its zero depreciation. They gave me best insured value based on the age of vehicle, they have ncb features and they many service centers too.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , gurgaon
    Reviewed on Dec 05, 2018
  • Bajaj Allianz Car Insurance
    "Good claim process with fast service"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    The premium amt is good in Bajaj Allianz and economical too, I paid Rs. 25k for one year. I have Hyundai I ton card its 3 years old, they gave me best insured declared amount, I got the papers on time, my claim exp is good, car got damaged and replaced and gave it on time, even they have lined with many service centers.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 05, 2018
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Quick policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    I have been renewing the policy for 4 years with ICICI Lombard. The policy was given by dealer when i purchase the policy and i'm continuing the policy without any reason. The claim experience was fine. I have got the coverage amount of Rs. 9 lakhs and i have got the claim amount of RS. 40000. This policy covered with bumper to bumper facility. I have got the claim within 5 days.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , chennai
    Reviewed on Dec 05, 2018
  • Universal Sompo Car Insurance
    "Good Car Insurance policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    My car insurance policy was taken 2 years ago with Universal Sompo. I have been renewing the policy with the same company. I have paid the premium amount of Rs. 4000. This policy has been covered for 100%. They have given me a car value of Rs. 1.90 lakhs.They have offered me a facilities of road side assistance and bumper to bumper. I have no claim experience so far.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 03, 2018
  • Bajaj Allianz Car Insurance
    "Its Good"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    Cost of the car policy is good in Bajaj Allianz. I have Maruthi card they best insured value based on the age. I don't have any claim experience. The insurance company gave me Rs. 2.5 lakhs for one year, third party cover and personal accidental cover is good.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Dec 03, 2018
  • New India Car Insurance
    "Good Experience"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    In 10 years of experience I didn't face any claim. I have wagon R, the premium cost was economical, I paid around Rs. 5000 for one year, they gave me the comprehensive 100% protection plan, they got tie up with the dealer and they do have ncb features.
    Was this review helpful? 2
    , mumbai
    Reviewed on Dec 03, 2018
  • United India Car Insurance
    "Good car insurance policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    Since its a new car, they have given me a a zero depreciation policy. The dealer has recommended me about this car insurance policy when i purchase my car. I have paid the premium amount of Rs. 28000. They have not given me a road side assistance facility but bumper to bumper facility is available. More garages are available in my location.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Dec 03, 2018
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Better"
    0.5 4.5/5 "Excellent!"
    My car insurance was taken with ICICI Lombard and it was offered by the showroom. They are giving zero depreciation and don't know about the other offers. The premium is included in the car price. The customer service is good. They have sent the insurance papers on time.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Dec 02, 2018
  • review Car Insurance
    "Value of money"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    4 years back, i have bought my car insurance policy with Bharti Axa. Somebody suggested me about this car insurance policy. The premium amount is less comparatively less when i compared with other companies. I'm happy about the coverage value they have provided to me. I have not claimed anything in this policy.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Dec 02, 2018
Common Loader Icon
Page 1 of 50 1 2 3 4 5

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.