Insurance is like a spare tyre. You may not require it, but not having one is not an option.

How To Deal With A Claims Inspection

 4.5 / 5.0   by 2313 users
Used this product? Write a review >>

Policy Coverage

Customer Service

Claim Experience

Responsiveness

Cashless Garages

Before an insurance company reimburses your car insurance claim, they will want to inspect the damaged vehicle. This inspection is the initial step in the claims settlement process, and it may be scheduled at the spot of the accident or even weeks later, depending on the incidents surrounding your claim.

Where Is The Claims Inspection Done?

Each insurance provider has a specific process on carrying out their claims inspection. Some insurers will appoint mobile adjusters to take a look at the vehicle, either at your residence or at the accident scene. The inspector would then perform an elaborate evaluation of the damage with photographic evidence and statements recorded from the parties involved in the mishap.

Other insurance companies prefer to inspect the car at a specified location, such as an approved body shop, where you would have to bring the vehicle. Some insurers also agree to have the assessment done at the service centre of your choice.

Whatever method is adopted by the insurer, the purpose of each inspection would be the same, i.e., to estimate the cost of repair of the vehicle.

How Is The Inspection Performed?

Listed below are the factors considered by the surveyor when performing a claims inspection:

  • Detect fraudulence - The inspector?s job involves an examination to understand if the damages that were claimed to have occurred are really there. He would have to negate the possibility of the car being damaged prior to the accident, and the owner using the instance of the collision to include existing damages within the claim. If such a fraudulent intent is discovered by the surveyor, the claim will be nullified immediately. So, it is best to be honest with your insurance company, and file claims only for legitimate reasons.
  • Identify the actual damage and the associated repair cost - Apart from sieving out fraudulent claims, the surveyor also identifies the actual damage incurred by the car, and a reasonable cost of repair for it. This is the basis for the final insurance claim settlement.

    Service centres without a standard rate card charge customers on a case by case basis. Customers who are able to negotiate well walk away with the best deal. Similarly, in the case of car damage estimates after a claims inspection, the amount that the service centre quotes will depend upon their relationship with the insurance company. Hence, it is best to get cars repaired at the network garages suggested by the insurer.

    In addition to the quotes provided by the service centre, you can get an independent appraisal of your damages through another source to tally the estimates and see if they are in alliance. In case you see that you are being charged too much by the service centre, and subsequently the insurer, you can always raise fresh discussions with them to negotiate on a better quote.

  • The process of inspection - First, the inspector will survey the vehicle and take photographs of all the damages that are visible. He will also take notes in a detailed manner to support the photo evidence. The parts of the car that need replacement will be marked separately. These photographs and notes are usually submitted to the insurance provider for claims settlement. The process of inspection generally lasts for 30 minutes to an hour.
  • Follow up processes - The insurance claims inspector will explain the repair estimates to you in an elaborate way. You will also receive the same in a document, for your reference. In the documentation, the costs will be split on a component basis, and described in a detailed manner. You should tally the specifics in the report with the clauses in your insurance policy to understand whether you have received all the benefits that you are liable for. Once you are satisfied with the quote, you can accept the proposal, so that the insurer can issue the damage repair costs.

When the inspection is under way, you should substantiate your claim with the car?s registration documents, your driver?s license, any photographs that you have of the accident scene and your auto insurance documents. In case you have carried out any repairs on the vehicle post the collision, you also need to furnish receipts for the same.

Conclusion

It is to be noted that you are eligible for a fair deal on the repair cost, as per the contract that you have signed with the insurer. However, you are required to furnish all information regarding the mishap in an honest manner. You should also read your policy documents carefully to be informed about the coverage details.

GST Update: GST of 18% is applicable on car insurance effective from the 1st of July, 2017

Claim Reviews

Page 1 of 50 1 2 3 4 5
  • HDFC Ergo Car Insurance
    "Need to reduce the premium"
    0.5 4.5/5 "Excellent!"
    I had a car insurance with HDFC Ergo and I felt the premium is very high hence I changed my insurance provider. The customer service is very good. There was no claim experience. The policy period is one year. It is a zero dep policy which includes bumper to bumper and RSA. It is a first party insurance.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Jan 23, 2019
  • New India Car Insurance
    "Good"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    My car insurance was recently purchased with New India Assurance through online. When I logged into the online site it gives better option with multiple insurer and I felt New India Assurance is good with reasonable premium and better benefits. I have paid 13,500 rupees for a year. I got the insurance paper. The claim experience is very good.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Jan 23, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Good Policy."
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    I have bought my car insurance with ICICI Lombard for last 5 years which I'm continuing for with the same company. The claim experience was better and when i applied for the same, they have given upto 80%. Its covered with bumper to bumper facility. They have given the claim in 1 week.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 22, 2019
  • Royal Sundaram Car Insurance
    "Good policy "
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    My car insurance was purchased in the year 2014 with Royal Sundaram. My dealer has recommended me about this policy. I pay the premium amount of Rs. 14000 with the coverage value of Rs. 6.27 lakhs which covered with the bumper to bumper facility.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , ahmedabad
    Reviewed on Jan 22, 2019
  • Bajaj Allianz Car Insurance
    "Good Policy"
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    I had taken this insurance policy a while back and the premium amount has been quite good and not too high. The payment method has been easy and there has not been any sort of charges, and the policy covers bumper to bumper. Their customer support has also been responsive and was helpful as well.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , mumbai
    Reviewed on Jan 22, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Its Good"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    There was no claim experience for my Tata Tiago with ICICI Lombard. I have renewed the car policy at last june, I paid the amount around Rs. 10,600 because its around 1.5 year old vehicle. I took comprehensive plan which includes loss , damage, ICICI Lombard got tie up many showroom.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Best cover"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    Very recently I took policy from Car insurance for my new Baleno car, it was done by ICICI bank, they deducted insurance fee from the loan. The loan department issued the policy copy on time. For first year its 100% coverage available its a bumper to bumper with ex showroom.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Good Car Insurance policy"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    I have selected the ICICI Lombard for my car since the dealer has given me this insurance. I have been paying the premium amount of Rs. 15000. This is not covered for the bumper to bumper facility. They have given me a IDV value of Rs, 3.10 lakhs. They are providing the good garage facility all over the city.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • United India Car Insurance
    "Yet to experience the policy"
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    I have applied the claim for my car recently. I have given the car into the showroom and they have asked me to inform in the insurance company. When i visited other branch they have asked me to the home branch. They have given me a sufficient IDV value. Its covered with a bumper to bumper facility.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , chennai
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Reliable Policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    Purchased my car insurance through ICICI Lombard and They have given me a low premium since i have taken a loan from ICICI bank. They have given me a good IDV value. This is a bumper to bumper covered policy. They have given me a road side assistance, no claim bonus benefits.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , chennai
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • National Insurance Car Insurance
    "Good Insurance"
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    My Honda amaze car got insured with National insurance for one year of tenure period. I think my old premium amount was around Rs.30,000. I took first party comprehensive plan it covers for loss, damage, theft. The customer support is good even the IDV is good.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bhubaneshwar
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Competitive price"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    I have taken a car insurance from ICICI Lombard and the service is really good. I spoke wtih the customer care once for the claim. The garage people taken care of the full settlement process. The premium amount is nominal. They have given me a best claim what they can offer according to their norms.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • Royal Sundaram Car Insurance
    "Economic offering and wide accessibility"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    Because it was good comparison between other companies hence i have chosen the Royal sundaram. The premium amount is reasonable. The IDV value is good. This a comprehensive policy which covers third party insurance. They have tie up with most of the garages. They have cashless facility in most of the places.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019
  • Royal Sundaram Car Insurance
    "Average"
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    I took my car insurance with Royal Sundaram. I never contacted the customer service. It is a default insurance from the showroom. The premium is high because I go for bumper to bumper offer, road side assistance, zeo dep. It is a first party insurance and no claim. The policy period is one year.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • SBI General Car Insurance
    "Good Policy"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    The showroom people has offered me a car insurance policy with SBI. I have made a premium amount of Rs. 22000. They have given me a coverage value of 100%. Total IDV value is 90% of the car value. I have no claim experience till now. The documentation process was done by showroom.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • National Insurance Car Insurance
    "Smart protection with National"
    0.5 4.0/5 "Great!"
    The major factor to chose National Insurance because of the premium is economic, I took the policy for 3 years the IDV value remains the same for the whole tenure. The customer support is good on time they activated the policy. I have Tata Tiago , its around four months vehicle. Its zero depreciation comprehensive plan. I taken the policy through showroom.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , lucknow
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Satisfied with the policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    My car insurance is with ICICI Lombard. The customer services are good and I got the policy documents on time. The policy coverage is good and there are features of a road side assistance is there. The premium is economical too. Good overall.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , bangalore
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance
    "Need to reduce the premium"
    0.5 3.0/5 "Satisfactory"
    I had a car insurance from ICICI LOMBARD which was offered by the showroom at the time of purchasing the vehicle. I felt the insurance premium is very high compared to others. I got a reminder call from the customer service at the time of renewal. It has zero dep for one year.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • Tata AIG Car Insurance
    "Excellent"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    I took my car insurance from TATA AIG through online channel. They have given lesser premium with zero dep and it includes road side assistance. The customer service is very good. The policy period is one year. I have no claim experience. It is a first party insurance.
    Was this review helpful? 0
    , new delhi
    Reviewed on Jan 19, 2019
  • Tata AIG Car Insurance
    "Satisfied policy"
    0.5 5.0/5 "Blown Away!"
    TATA AIG is the best company to take the car insurance. Since long time i have taken this insurance. The customer care people used to call me to renew the policy and they used to policy renewal letter. I will do payment through online. Several times i have claimed the policy and i have received very good response.
    Was this review helpful? 1
    , hyderabad
    Reviewed on Jan 18, 2019
Common Loader Icon
Page 1 of 50 1 2 3 4 5

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

reTH65gcmBgCJ7k
This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.