Schengen Countries List

Schengen countries are a part of the Schengen Agreement which was established in 1995. The Schengen area signifies a zone where 26 European nations have acknowledged the abolishment of their internal borders for free and unrestricted movement of people, goods, and services. The Schengen countries share the common rules for controlling the external borders.

List of Schengen Area

The following countries are a part of the Schengen area:

Out of the 26 countries, 22 countries have fully implemented the Schengen Acquis and the remaining four countries are members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). In order to become a Schengen member country, the aspirant country must meet the eligibility criteria. The criteria include the ability of the aspirant country to control the external borders of the Schengen area and also to issue Uniform Schengen Visas. Additionally, the aspirant country is also required to collaborate with law enforcement agencies of other Schengen countries. When applying to become a Schengen country, the aspirant country must undergo the Schengen Evaluation. Once a country becomes a Schengen country, a periodical

In Schengen Area, the nationalities from other countries can liberally cross the internal borders of the Schengen countries without any border checks. The Schengen member countries share the common standards for crossing the external borders and provide harmonized entry and short-stay visa norms to the applicants. The collaboration among the law enforcement agencies of the Schengen countries provides effective strategy for fighting crime through a shared database called the Schengen Information System (SIS).

Austria France Latvia Norway Sweden
Belgium Germany Lithuania Poland Switzerland
Czech Republic Greece Liechtenstein Portugal
Denmark Hungary Luxembourg Slovakia
Estonia Iceland Malta Slovenia
Finland Italy Netherlands Spain

In order to visit any of the listed countries, the nationalities from other countries are required to obtain a visa prior to the travel. The visa application requires the applicants to fill in the application form and provide their passport along with passport size photographs, travel health insurance, a cover letter stating the purpose of the travel, flight itinerary, accommodation details, proof of sufficient funds, and necessary documents. Based on the particular category of the visa, the applicant may require submitting additional documents.


Visa - Sitemap

Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.

This Page is BLOCKED as it is using Iframes.